More Amazing Quilts from QuiltCon 2013

QuiltCon was the most amazing quilting event I’ve ever been to in my life! You can see pictures of all of the Award Winning Quilts by clicking on these links below:

Participation RibbonMy head is so full of inspiration right now that I feel like it’s going to burst! I think I will spend most of  this week blogging, and  getting my ideas organized and written down.

Every quilt that was entered received a participation button that looked like a mini-ribbon, so it’s like my own personal keepsake.

I can’t thank the organizers enough for all their hard work! I am already anticipating the next QuiltCon in 2015.

Here are more beautiful quilts from the show that really touched me in some way:

Touch This Quilt

Touch This Quilt by Elizabeth Hartman, Hillsboro, Oregon

QuiltCon Block Challenge

QuiltCon Block Challenge by Members of the Modern Quilt Guild
Assembled and Quilted by Elizabeth Hartman

Spin Dr.

Spin Dr. by Angela Walters, Kearney, Missouri

In Defense of Handmade

In Defense of Handmade (Bar Code) by Thomas Knauer
Quilted by Lisa Sipes, Utica, New York

Texas

Texas by Dana Michaelsen, Quilted by Angela Walters
Los Angeles, California

Pointless

Pointless by Laura Bisagna, Winchester, California

Stella

Stella! by Susan Strong, Quilted by Ardelle Kerr
Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

Las Vegas Modern Quilt Guild

Las Vegas Modern Quilt Guild Charity Quilt 2011
By Members of the Las Vegas Modern Quilt Guild and Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild

Concerto

Concerto by Alyssa Lichner, Gilbert, Arizona

Charming Chevrons

Charming Chevrons by Christa Watson, Las Vegas, Nevada

It was such a pleasure to be a part of this experience! If you like my Charming Chevrons quilt above, you can follow my free tutorial series on how to make it.

16 thoughts on “More Amazing Quilts from QuiltCon 2013

  1. Anna says:

    Even though I attended QuiltCon I didn’t even get enough time to go around and see the quilts! I was a Super Volunteer all weekend and ran my feet off. (You and Alyssa joined me for lunch one day, I’m ModQuiltGirl on Flickr) Thanks for posting this awesome recap!

  2. Margaret A (grammamaggie) says:

    I can see how you are all inspired, pumped up and ready to go!!! What a great experience for you to be able to attend. Many Thanks for all the great photos you’ve posted and shared with those of us who couldn’t go. Maybe one day …. 🙂

  3. Cheryl says:

    Really appreciate your time and effort to post these pics!! Very inspiring and I agree that these that you picked as favorites are better in many ways than some of the winners. Your chevrons are great and your workmanship too. I’ll be in Vegas late March. Do you know a fabric shop that would be a not-to-be-missed shop?

  4. msannie says:

    Quite frankly, I liked ALL these quilts on this page better than the award winning ones. Mama > Christa Quilts! > Monday, February 25, 2013 12:31 PM > Christa posted: “QuiltCon was the most amazing quilting event I’ve > ever been to in my life! You can see pictures of all of the Award > Winning Quilts by clicking on these links below: QuiltCon Award > Winners, Part 1 QuiltCon Award Winners, Part 2 QuiltCon Award Winne” >

    • Christa says:

      Isn’t that one great? The quiltmaker also made a matching one, Needless, that won a ribbon. The picture of that is on one of my previous QuiltCon blog posts.

  5. Carol W. says:

    I’ve enjoyed your pictures of the show since I wasn’t able to attend. I believe my favorites were the ones you showed today !!!!!!!! Keep up the great work!

  6. Amy says:

    I’m glad that you had such a wonderful time and as someone who couldn’t go, I appreciated your coverage of the conference! I wish it wouldn’t conflict with school vacation week here.

  7. Kathie says:

    Hi Christa!
    I was there on Thursday and was able to see your quilt in person :-). Thanks for posting your great pictures for those who didn’t have the opportunity to attend. It was a great conference!

Leave a comment